December 9, 2023

Food Bazaar

Get In My Food Bazaar

Pamplin Media Group – Oregon high school softball: Class 6A-2A/1A state tournament tracker

Check in here the rest of May to see where Oregon high school softball teams are heading for state.

PMG PHOTO: WADE EVANSON - Tigard senior pitcher Makenna Reid winds for a pitch during the Tigers' game versus Jesuit April 11, at Jesuit High School., Times - Sports The Tigers are the top-ranked team in the state and boast one of Oregon's best pitchers, but they win collectively. Tigard softball is no joke

With the calendar flipped to May, the Oregon high school softball race for league titles and state playoff spots is in full gear.

We’ve taken a look at all classifications of softball across the state, looking at which teams are in line for autobids, which ones are going as at-large squads, and who’s getting left at home.

Class 6A takes three autobids from each league, plus 11 at-large teams. Class 5A takes the top four from the Northwest Oregon Conference, Midwestern League and Mid-Willamette Conference, plus the top three from the Intermountain Conference. The lone at-large spot goes to the highest ranked fifth place team from the Midwestern or Mid-Willamette.

Class 4A gives it’s six league winners, plus the two highest ranked second place teams an automatic spot at state. The four other second place teams, all six third place teams and six at-large bids will play play-in games for a spot.

Class 3A takes the top two from the PacWest Conference, Mountain Valley Conference, Far West League and Special District 1, plus the top three from SD2. Five at-large spots are given out.

Class 2A/1A hands out autobids to the top three teams in Special Districts 1, 2, 4, 5 and 6, and gives four to SD3. Then three at-large teams are determined.

OSAA rankings freeze on Tuesday, May 17 for 4A; Thursday, May 19 for 6A and 2A/1A; and Saturday, May 21 for 5A and 3A.

Any ties in standings were broken by looking at head-to-head matchups, then OSAA rankings if head-to-head was inconclusive. Teams were ranked based on league winning percentage.

Here are the projected fields:

Last updated: May 17, 11:30 a.m.

Class 6A


PIL: Roosevelt, Franklin, Grant

Metro: Westview, Mountainside, Jesuit

Pacific: Sherwood, McMinnville, Newberg

Mt. Hood: Central Catholic, Nelson, Reynolds

Three Rivers: Tigard, Oregon City, Tualatin

Mountain Valley: Bend, McNary, South Salem

Southwest: South Medford, Sheldon, Roseburg

At large




Lake Oswego

North Medford


Forest Grove


West Linn


Grants Pass

Next five out: West Salem, Sunset, Sandy, Centennial, Glencoe

The field

No. 32 Grant at No. 1 Tigard

No. 17 Sprague at No. 16 Mountainside

No. 25 West Linn at No. 8 Jesuit

No. 24 Roseburg at No. 9 Canby

No. 28 Grants Pass at No. 5 McNary

No. 21 Forest Grove at No. 12 Central Catholic

No. 29 Roosevelt at No. 4 South Medford

No. 20 Lake Oswego at No. 13 Sherwood

No. 30 Nelson at No. 3 Oregon City

No. 19 North Medford at No. 14 Tualatin

No. 27 Reynolds at No. 6 McMinnville

No. 22 Gresham at No. 11 Newberg

No. 26 Southridge at No. 7 Sheldon

No. 23 Barlow at No. 10 Westview

No. 31 Franklin at No. 2 Bend

No. 18 Lakeridge at No. 15 South Salem

Roosevelt stays at 29 despite being projected league champs as host teams must be in top 16 of OSAA rankings. Roosevelt is currently 29.

Moved Southridge from 25 to 26, West Linn from 24 to 25 and Roseburg from 26 to 24 to avoid three league matchups.

Swapped Gresham and Forest Grove to avoid Gresham-Central Catholic and Forest Grove-Newberg league matchups.

Swapped Lake Oswego and North Medford to avoid Lake Oswego-Tualatin league matchup.

Class 5A


NWOC: Wilsonville, Scappoose, Putnam, La Salle Prep

Midwestern: Crater, Thurston, Eagle Point, Ashland

Mid-Willamette: Dallas/Falls City, Lebanon, West Albany, Corvallis, Central (at-large)

Intermountain: Pendleton, Ridgeview, Hood River Valley

The field

No. 16 La Salle Prep at No. 1 Pendleton

No. 9 West Albany at No. 8 Scappoose

No. 12 Ashland at No. 5 Lebanon

No. 13 Corvallis at No. 4 Crater

No. 14 Putnam at No. 3 Dallas/Falls City

No. 11 Hood River Valley at No. 6 Eagle Point

No. 10 Thurston at No. 7 Ridgeview

No. 15 Central at No. 2 Wilsonville

Swapped Central and Ashland to avoid Central-Lebanon league matchup.

Class 4A


Cowapa: Astoria, Valley Catholic, Banks

Tri-Valley: Estacada, Corbett, Madras

Oregon West: Cascade, Stayton, Sweet Home

Sky Em: Marist Catholic, Marshfield, Cottage Grove

Skyline: Henley, Mazama, Hidden Valley

Greater Oregon: La Grande, Ontario, Baker/Powder Valley

At large



Junction City




Next five out: Gladstone, Newport, Sisters, Tillamook, North Marion

Play-in games

Byes (seed 1-8): Marist Catholic, Cascade, La Grande, Astoria, Stayton, Ontario, Estacada, Henley

C8 Phoenix at B1 Sweet Home

C7 Seaside at B2 Mazama

C6 Junction City at B3 Valley Catholic

C5 McLoughlin at B4 Marshfield

C4 Elmira/Mapleton at B5 Corbett

C3 Madras at B6 Banks

C2 Hidden Valley at B7 Cottage Grove

C1 Philomath at B8 Baker/Powder Valley

Class 3A


PacWest: Yamhill-Carlton, Scio

Mountain Valley: Pleasant Hill, Harrisburg/Mohawk

Far West: South Umpqua, Brookings-Harbor

SD1: Taft, Warrenton

SD2: Burns, Enterprise, Vale

At large


Santiam Christian

Blanchet Catholic



Next five out: Amity, Rainier, Willamina, Clatskanie, Sutherlin

The field

No. 16 Creswell at No. 1 Yamhill-Carlton

No. 9 Dayton at No. 8 Enterprise

No. 12 Blanchet Catholic at No. 5 Harrisburg/Mohawk

No. 13 Warrenton at No. 4 Scio

No. 14 Douglas at No. 3 Burns

No. 11 Santiam Christian at No. 6 Taft

No. 10 Brookings-Harbor at No. 7 Pleasant Hill

No. 15 Vale at No. 2 South Umpqua

Class 2A/1A


SD1: Nestucca, Gaston, Knappa

SD2: Kennedy, Jefferson, Santiam

SD3: Glide, North Douglas, Monroe, Days Creek

SD4: Toledo, Bandon, Reedsport

SD5: Lakeview, Rogue River, Lost River

SD6: Grant Union/Prairie City, Union/Cove, Weston-McEwen

At large



Pilot Rock/Nixyaawii

Next five out: Oakridge, Vernonia, Sheridan, Perrydale, Lowell

The field

No. 17 Echo/Stanfield at No. 16 Neah-Kah-Nie

No. 1 Grant Union/Prairie City, bye

No. 9 Knappa at No. 8 Lakeview (round two)

No. 21 Rogue River at No. 12 Monroe

No. 5 Glide, bye

No. 20 Reedsport at No. 13 Jefferson

No. 4 Union/Cove, bye

No. 19 Santiam at No. 14 Days Creek

No. 3 North Douglas, bye

No. 22 Lost River at No. 11 Gaston

No. 6 Toledo, bye

No. 10 Weston-McEwen at No. 7 Kennedy (round two)

No. 18 Pilot Rock/Nixyaawii at No. 15 Bandon

No. 2 Nestucca, bye

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.